MY TRAIN DERAILS AT...
I have seen many posts from various members about this subject. It is difficult to trouble shoot via the inter net, because trains are dynamic models, and it is sometimes necessary to actually see what is happening to cause the derailing. This will be a long post, but I hope that I can put in a comprehensive tutorial that anyone can use to trouble shoot derailing problems on the railroad. By the way, I model in ho. I think the same dynamics apply from z scale to LGB, but I have no experience with scales other than ho, so you guys modeling in other scales will need to scale up or down accordingly.

First off, I'm going to suggest that there are three areas where we can find the cause of the derailing of our cars and locomotives.
#1 tracks.
#2 incompatibility between rolling stock and radius.
#3 rolling stock problems.
I've found the problems will generally fall into one of those areas, and the plan is to put up a comprehensive post to cover all contingencies if possible. On second thought, I think I'll do a general over view in this post and then do the detailed analysis in each area in subsequent replies.

How to figure out if a problem is track related, rolling stock related, or incompatibility between rolling stock and track radius.

First, does all rolling stock derail regularly at the same place on the layout? If the answer is yes, you probably have a track problem.

Is the problem section curved or straight track or is it a switch?

Does only some of the equipment derail at the same place, but other equipment works fine there? If the answer is yes, does the rolling stock that has problems have something in common? For instance, do 40 foot and 50 foot cars work fine, but 60 foot-85 foot cars have problems? Yes? Probably a radius problem.