I Saw A Train Today!
Well, Gary, I think that they're just like dogs: whisper something like "Wanna go for a car ride?", and they'll be jumping up and down and running all over the house like maniacs. Same thing for train rides. Misngth Goldth

Wayne
And... thanks for the link, now we know.
Three Foot Rule In Effect At All Times
Gary S Wrote:heck, I was not only taking photos, I was also talking on the cell phone. I'm a really good driver. Confusedhock:

You forgot drinking a coffee, eating a donut, having a smoke, checking the GPS, and reading the paper all at the same time. :race:
Wonder if these were built in Johnstown - from Freightcar America's site: "The cars are designed with a new electric, solar-powered activation system, whereby ballast can be dumped remotely by radio control. Their air-operated doors from W. H. Miner Enterprises function like traditional ballast cars, capable of distributing ballast either on the inside or outside of the rails. The electric operating system, provided by Georgetown Rail Equipment, is the first of its kind. BNSF will use the cars in track maintenance system-wide. " NS had similar cars with R/C dump doors, but they were equipped with dual air hoses, the second hose m/u'd to the loco's main reservior (150psi) to supply the operating pressure - this is newer stuff, I guess. :o Bob C.
James Thurber - "It is better to know some of the questions than all of the answers."
Tank car unloading without a permanent facility:

[Image: image.php?album_id=135&image_id=1933]

[Image: image.php?album_id=135&image_id=1934]
Great Pictures Gary. CSX has a line through Johnstown, Pa and haul in tank cars and they are unloaded the same way. Cheers
Matt
I can smell a steam post ten blocks away and when I do clear the tracks because the steam express will be hi ballin through
http://cambriaindiana.weebly.com/
Now that's a cool piece of equipment!! Thumbsup

So, Gary, are you gonna build one ... can you do a tutorial on it? Big Grin 357