CSX car renumbering question.
I'm starting out on my first serious layout endeavor. I will be modeling a version of the town I grew up in, in Maryland during the late 1980's. My question is what is the difference between CSX car renumbering where the old road name and number are painted over, and "CSXT 012345" is painted over it vs the original road name and number left intact and the CSX logo added to the opposite end of the car? Are there specific reasons for this? How does this fit into the era? I will be using rolling stock from all of the companies CSX acquired with a man focus on B&O, C&O and WM. Trying to figure out how to appropriately number them. Thanks in advance.
Hi Holdfastrva,
Merry Christmas and welcome to Big Blue.
As to your car re-numbering question I am no expert on the matter, but from what I have gathered reading TRAINS and Model Railroader, the usual sort of answer comes down to when a car or a locomotive is shopped for periodic servicing. Locomotives are attended to more frequently and are also the more public face of a company, so you could expect to see them with patches until they come in for a major overhaul and re-paint.
I remember reading about Union Pacific's re-numbering following the acquisition of firstly Chicago and North Western, [CNW], Denver and Rio Grande Western [DRGW] and then the acquisition of Southern Pacific, which resulted in some locomotives being re-numbered several times. This was partly because UP now had more than 9999 locomotives, and partly because some were to be retired immediately or within 6 to 12 months, others were to be moved to make room in certain classes to for other locos to join that new class group. This is why UP now has the reporting mark UPY for its yard service only locomotives, as it was a simple way to make space for other road use locos within the 9999 boundaries.