Ocalicreek's Garage Layout Planning Thread
Galen! That plan is great as well as your accompanying description! It might need some tweeking here and there but for the most part, I say go with it. It makes my quicky look like dog food! 357
nomad Wrote:I' m home so give me a call if you need help with XTRk. I'm not an expert, but I've used it enough lately to get around fairly good. Goldth
That plan looks good. Are you still going to build a small layout for now ?

Loren

Yes, I plan on building the small layout while I set aside some hobby money for the layout. Iain Rice has some very good things to say about managing a mid-sized layout project from the perspectives of time, family involvement, and of course, money. Being in a new house with so many other projects competing for time, especially during the summer (read: a chicken coop to build!) I think it best to scrimp and save while working on smaller modeling projects until the Fall.

I may be calling on you for XtrkCad advice, so thanks for your offer!

Galen
I may not be a rivet counter, but I sure do like rivets!
TrainNut Wrote:Galen! That plan is great as well as your accompanying description! It might need some tweeking here and there but for the most part, I say go with it. It makes my quicky look like dog food! 357

Thanks, TN! It will most certainly need tweeking since it's only at the mainline/passing siding/grade check stage. I may be able to widen the front curves, and sidings need to be planned. I have already shown one possible spot for a diorama to be included...but there are a couple more to fit on there as well. (PLUS the summer kitbash project may need a home too!).

The Yard may cause me fits, however. I sketched out a very functional basic yard on 24" width, so shifting all the blobs over a bit and shrinking aisles may be in order, along with narrowing the yard down to 18" width (excepting the remaining 2' over the freezer, of course).