TastyBake ISL
Hello Everyone at Big Blue,

I’m new to posting here, although I have been lurking for several months. I’m looking for help, advice and suggestions for what I hope…no, scratch that…for what WILL be my first completed layout.

I think that I should first start by giving you a little background.

I was an avid armchair modeler and even started a small switching layout during my teen aged years. I moved away from the hobby and pursued other pastimes for a few decades, but never really lost my interest in trains and model railroading. Over the past few years my interest has been rekindled and I’m now 41 years old and looking to settle down with an operational layout.

Now, let’s move onto the layout.

I will be building a small switching layout module that will be serving one client. It will be a large bakery that receives a variety of raw materials to produce its baked goods. It also ships some cars via rail to its distribution networks throughout the country. I was originally thinking of including a team track where the shipping spur and dock are located, but that just seems to me to be the common and somewhat boring solution, so shipping it is unless someone can convince me otherwise.

Starting on the left…

This is where the trains come in from. There will be a cassette extension for this that will eventually be replaced with another self-contained module after this one is completed. The bakery also receives a lot of materials by the trailer load, so there will be an Athearn yard tractor to move these trailers around on this side of the layout. The reason for this is that the management can’t trust the trucking drivers to negotiate the busy and tight quarters of the shipping/receiving courtyard, especially when there are multiple trailer and train deliveries daily, around the clock. The real reason is that I think that those yard tractors are really neat and I wanted to find a way to incorporate one into the layout.