2 X 4 Everett & Monte Cristo RR(ish) build
Hello all. I have been a rail fan for the last fourty years or so, but have never built a layout. This is my first attempt... I know nothing. So... if you see me screwing up, feel free to TELL ME!

My layout fictionally depicts a tiny portion of the Everett & Monte Cristo RR as it passes through Granite Falls Washington. After the E&MC failed, the line was used for many years as a logging line. Switchbacks and steep grades were commonplace in the Cascade Mountains.

(From the Granite Falls website)

Railroad Day’s Bio:
(I have been to this celebration...)
Railroad Days celebrates the era of steam trains that puffed through town beginning in 1892 when the Everett and Monte Cristo Railroad reached the town. By the next year the tracks reached to the mountain gold mining town of Monte Cristo. Gold mining lasted only a decade but logging trains were a familiar sight for many more years, along with passenger trains that brought tourists from Seattle and Everett to the famous Big Four Inn resort in the shadow of Big Four Mountain.

OK, here we go...

Track plan: Two separate lines, a short line that brings logs from the Big Four Mountain to the sawmill in Granite Falls and a mainline hauling lumber to points beyond. Tightest mainline radius - 9.5, Logging - 7.4.
Attachment 3

Showing the mountain: Mainline runs through the mountain via a tunnel and the logging line starts its climb in the orange tunnel then emerges into the switchbacks.
attachment 2

Benchwork: 2" Pink foam. I passed everything through the table saw and came up with the back of the mountain interlocking into the base. The mountain sides are glued on to provide a general idea of elevation. The 7" X 38" cutout in the back provides access to the tunnels and a small staging area.
attachment 1

That's it so far...
Thanks for a place to post this and ignore the packing tape lol, it is just holding the show together until the glue dries.

Ted

Attached Files Image(s)