Train accident in D.C. -- Not good!!
<!-- m --><a class="postlink" href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2009/06/washington_dc_subway_trains_co.html">http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/200 ... ns_co.html</a><!-- m -->
~~ Mikey KB3VBR (Admin)
~~ NARA Member # 75    
~~ Baldwin Eddystone Unofficial Website

~~ I wonder what that would look like in 1:20.3???
I saw that on the MSN news page. That's awful.
I just came from there... (i'm a firefighter in D.C.) I can assure you the pics on TV do it no justice. The one car almost completely telescoped, it was one of the old style cars. I think the new cars are designed not to do that. I am sorry to say there were several that did not survive, including at least one train operator. How horrible for everyone involved.

Dave
-Dave
Puddlejumper Wrote:I just came from there... (i'm a firefighter in D.C.) I can assure you the pics on TV do it no justice. The one car almost completely telescoped, it was one of the old style cars. I think the new cars are designed not to do that. I am sorry to say there were several that did not survive, including at least one train operator. How horrible for everyone involved.

Dave
This is why I post these things, even though it's bad news. We ned to know that somethng is not always right on our rail lines... Old car? Maybe because the rail line doesn't have the money to buy newer cars? How many lives could have been saved? and this is the first I'm hearing up here in PA - that one of the 9 dead was a railroad employee......

My condolences to all the families of all the deceased.....
~~ Mikey KB3VBR (Admin)
~~ NARA Member # 75    
~~ Baldwin Eddystone Unofficial Website

~~ I wonder what that would look like in 1:20.3???