Wahl Clipper Oil for Track: The Verdict 2 Years on?
Remember about years ago a fad swept the online forums involved keeping your electric trains of any scale running well by coating the rails with Wahl Clipper oil? Well it's been two years since I remember reading about it. Does anybody still use it, and how successful or unsuccessful have you been using it?

What's the verdict for this product? Just another fad or something to continue using?
I've been using it since 1984, when it was first brought up in MR magazine. I find it works best with metal wheels and that a little goes a very long way.
...prophesy not unto us right things, speak unto us smooth things, prophesy deceits...

My blog>>> <!-- m --><a class="postlink" href="http://www.misterbobsmodelworksemporium.blogspot.com">http://www.misterbobsmodelworksemporium.blogspot.com</a><!-- m -->
Still love it! Saved my enjoyment of the hobby. Thumbsup
Ralph
The largest model railway in the world, Miniatur Wunderland in Hamburg, doesn't oil or any other fluid on their 12 kilometers of track. They just use track rubbers to clean and vacuum up the dust afterwards.
This is what one of the workers there says. "The reason why we dry-clean is also quite simple:
Any fluid leaves some residue on the tracks and the chance to completely dry the track is minimal. Damp track, however, is a magnet for dirt and dust which in turn is picked up by the engines and that results in higher maintenance of rolling stock. We tried it and had to state that some wagons picked up that much dirt that the wheels didn't turn anymore. Some engines just barely were able to pick up current due to dirty wheel boxes (especially the American ones)."

See their video on Youtube. <!-- m --><a class="postlink" href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AGbx4ceLnSA&eurl=http%3A%2F%2Fthecentralstation%2Emyfreeforum%2Eorg%2Fabout2319%2Ehtml&feature=player_embedded">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AGbx4ceL ... r_embedded</a><!-- m -->