Hydrochloric Acid Spill
I'm sure most have seen the news about the evacuation of 265 homes for the day in order to deal with an HCl spill. What I'm hoping for here is some enlightenment on an interesting an perplexing issue.

Authorities keep telling us that they don;t know how much acid was in the tanker, which I find not only odd, but deliberately misleading:

1. I was under the impression that the shipping of hazardous materials required specific documentation.

2. The capacity of the tanker is known, and the experts have stated that the leak was approximately 75 gallons. If they can be that specific, they must have an expert estimate on the amount still in the tanker.

3. The tanker was pumped out into another tanker. I'm no rocket scientist, but if I know the capacity of the pump in gallons/minute and how long it took the pump to empty the tanker, I'll bet I can figure out how much acid that car was carrying.

Anyone with practical railroading experience want to enlighten me?
MM,

It has been a while since I worked for CSX (or for the Fire Department), but I still work in the transportation industry. Your beliefs and expectations are correct. Especially these days (Post 9/11). Every placarded HazMat has to have a manifest, the manifest contains all sorts of information, including volume in gallons. When a HazMat recovery team transloads a liquid load, they have to follow the exact equation you stated.
Either the information presented by whatever media source is skewed, or their is some mis-information being presented.

Matt
Don't follow me, I'm lost too.
I appreciate your response. Turns out a "settlement team" from BNSF is now in Monument taking claims from those evacuated, and I think personally that BNSF is afraid of public opinion should the amount and frequency of these shipments become public knowledge. BNSF has o useful alternate route other than through Monument, and if adverse public opinion forced them to stop moving hazardous shipments...