Resin Casting
Hi all, new to the forum! Well, not new to reading it, but I hope now by posting that I can contribute to all the great information on this site!

I recently 3d-printed a prototype G43 gondola body in HO scale, and would like to make copies of this shell in resin. Unfortunately, I have tried my hand at casting a few times, and know that I do not have the skill to do it myself. Has anyone ever used a resin casting service, or had a friend cast for them, that they would recommend? I am not looking for a large order, just 15 or so good-quality shells, and being a college student I am sort of on a budget (this just means no $400-700 molds, like a few services I have contacted quoted me). The picture below shows the shell I'm talking about, to put it in perspective. Thanks in advance for any help!

Attached Files Image(s)

Why not just keep printing new models up? If its a cost thing, I don't think anyone is going to do this work for you and not charge you almost as much.

As far as your experience with resin casting goes, what happened? Have you tried to cast this model yet? What did you try?

It looks straight forward. I would pack the inside of the gondola with casting clay, but leave the edges exposed.

Then I would flip this over so that the underside was facing up, and put this in a mold box of some kind. This would let the bubbles travel away from the master. I would pour the rubber in a stream away from the model and let it fill in around the model. If you use a "thin" stream, you will reduce the bubbles you produce to almost nothing. Let this sit overnight or however long your rubber takes the cure.

Once this was done, I would peel out the clay, and put some mold release on the exposed rubber, and fill in the cavity with more rubber. the bubbles will again flow away from the deck of the gondola.